Sunday Salon…03.15.09

Photobucket

This should actually be one of my easiest weekly posts since it’s really just a recap of what’s been going on in this Book Faery’s reading world but I seem to always find other things to do except this one.

To start off this week’s SS and before I get to the books currently on my shelf, here’s a poem I found about books…

OPEN A BOOK
Open a book
And you will find
People and places
Of every kind.

Open a book
And you can be
Anything that
You want to be.

Open a book
And you can share
Wonderous worlds
You find in there.

Open a book
And I will, too.
You read to me,
And I’ll read to you.

~ Author Unknown ~

Now on to The Book Faery’s book adventures for the week!Here’s a quick recap of what went on this week around here…

Even though I have many shelves of books, I still enjoy buying more books, borrowing books from the library, or getting a book through other sources. There are many unread books on the shelves because I am constantly rotating books out for replacements (unless of course I fell in love with the book). So the other week I grabbed a bag full as I have a habit of reading books simultaneously.  At different moments through the week I’ll grab one of those books which peaks my interest of the moment.

  • Strange Candy by Laurell K. Hamilton (READ)
  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button read via daily e-mail snippets from DailyLit (STILL READING)
  • Almost a Brideby Jane Feather (STILL READING)
  • Real Sex for Women by Laura Berman (READ)
  • A Hint of Seduction by Amelia Grey (READ)

Some of the books that I also grabbed from the library but have not yet begun include…

  • Click: What Millions of People are Doing Online and Why It Matters byBill Tancer
  • Nightseer by Laurell K. Hamilton
  • The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer: My Life at Rose Red

In addition to the books I buy, borrow, or gifted to me, I often get books from publishers and authors to review.  For the last two weeks I’ve received the following…

  • Hearts of Stone by Kate Gessner (Review Here)
  • The Bouncing Boy: A Modern Day Fairy Tale for Kids 1-100 Years Old by ILIA
  • Fairy Glade & Other Enchanting Tales by Dawn Beaumont-Lane
  • The Truth Lies in the Dark by Kristin Callender
  • Women in Family Owned Businesses: What Keeps you Up at Night by Patricia M. Annino, Thomas Davidow, and Cynthia Adams Harrison, with Lisbeth Davidow
  • Texas Dreams: Paper Roses by Amanda Cabot
  • The Whittaker Family Reunion by Shirley A. Roe

Now on to some fabulous news about The Book Faery Reviews…we just bought a domain name, are now self-hosted, and will have a new look!  The transition to our new location is planned to take place on April 1st, 2009.  Current subscribers shouldn’t miss a post and I’ll be reminding everyone of the change weekly til we move.  Be on the lookout as there will be a book giveaway to kick off the new location.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

If you would like to participate or read other Sunday Salon Meme’s where members share their books click on the image above.

Leave a Reply

