Blue Diary

FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE…”When Ethan Ford fails to show up for work one day, none of his neighbors would guess that for more than thirteen years he has been running from his past. His true nature has been locked away, as hidden as his real identity. But the devastating truth of Ethan’s history shatters the small town peace of Monroe, Massachusetts. His wife, Jorie, is left with a life that is a mystery, even to herself and his son, Collie, must now decide what kind of man he wants to become.  A compelling mystery, an emotional roller-coaster, Blue Diary is a modern retelling of Bluebeard, a dark fairytale of love gone wrong.

FROM THE BOOK FAERY REVIEWS…In the past I have enjoyed reading Hoffman’s work but I should have known that if a book takes me a LOOOONG time to get engaged (I believe it took me 2.5 weeks to read Blue Diary) and is nothing but pure drama; it’s not going to be one that I will really like.  If I can read a book in 1-3 days, it’s typically a good one in my view.  I’ve also realized that there was a reason why I enjoyed paranormal romance, action packed historical romance, and suspense romance…I need something to kick my imagination into gear!!   This book left me feeling like I did after reading The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.  People raved about it but it was too dramatic for me, I lost interest throughout parts of it and was just felt depressed.  Blue Diary was very much a book about relationships and basically what happens to them when somebody’s done something secretive in their past.  It does make you remember though that what you do today might not affect or catch up with you at the moment but one day it very well could.  Not only might your choice affect you but those innocents around you as well.  I’m just thrilled I finally finished it!

Leave a Reply

