The Memory Keeper’s Daughter

FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE“This stunning novel begins on a winter night in 1964, when a blizzard forces Dr. David Henry to delivery his own twins.  His son, born first, is perfectly healthy, but the doctor immediately recognizes that his daughter has Down Syndrome.  For motives he tells himself are good, he makes a split-second decision that will haunt all their lives forever.  He asks his nurse, Caroline, to take the baby away to an institution.  Instead, she disappears into another city to raise the child as her own.”

FROM THE BOOK FAERY REVIEWS…I’ve FINALLY finished reading the book after THREE attempts over the past year!!!  DONE! DONE I say!!  After hearing such great reviews about the book I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it and read.  Read and relate it to life as I always do with every book that I pick up.  HOWEVER…I have to say that I was disappointed.  It didn’t grab me as much as I had anticipated that it would.  I felt the story to be slow…Course I’m not that big into serious drama stories.  As I read Kim Edwards The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, I did though experience different emotions throughout the novel.  A child with Down’s Syndrome appears to be difficult but they seem to be the most innocent loving beings around (at least the ones I have met along my life’s path).  I wonder what it really felt like to give away in fear of the “burden” so many speak of.  As a mother myself, I would find it difficult to give up a child myself regardless of the problems they may experience.  I was disappointed in the various characters within the story except for innocent Phoebe.  I wanted to “sit down and intervene” with Norah and David Henry for not communicating with each other which only led to Norah’s “need” to find something with other men outside her marriage and David’s wall he kept up strong and hide which didn’t allow anyone close to him to “know” him.  Not only was their marriage in shambles but it affected their son as well who often rebelled for attention and love of his parents.  It was as if I was within the son’s angry soul for not communicating as well.  But then our children reciprocate the things the parents do in life and that is pretty much what Paul did.  It seemed that ALL the characters but Phoebe felt failure through the 24 years.  It angered me a bit that David couldn’t get the courage to tell his family what he did the moment Phoebe and Paul did.  I wonder though what thing would have allowed him to release his own inner demons.  But I see that the strain of keeping this secret for so long is probably what killed him at such as early age without getting the opportunity to meet his daughter in person and mending his own relationship with his son, her twin.  With all the pregnancy tests and procedures we do now before the child is born, I can’t help but wonder if aborting a child before they are born because of their problems like Down’s isn’t really the same thing David did…at least he wanted his child to live…

For someone who enjoys family drama, they might like it but for me it was too slow and hard to stay engaged..

One Response

  1. […] The Memory Keeper’s Daughter […]

Leave a Reply

