The Sugar Queen

FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE“Josey, at 27, doesn’t go out except to do chores for her mother, she doesn’t wear clothes that her mother says don’t suit her, and she eats, secretly, as a substitute for the life she’s not living. One morning, when she goes to her closet to raid her secret stash of sweets, she finds a woman sitting there. Della Lee, on the run from something in her own life, has decided to take up residence in Josey’s closet. Thus begins Josey’s quest to get this madwoman out of her closet, and along the way she discovers a world where the color red has astonishing power, passion can make eggs fry in their cartons, and romance can blossom any time — even for her.”

THE BOOK FAERY REVIEW…I have to say that I was a little disappointed in Addison’s The Sugar Queen.  After reading her first book titled Garden Spell (my review is located in my blog as well), I had really expected another great story.  I think the most excitement I really got was the fact that I got picked to get an early review copy from the publisher (even though my copy came in the mail after the sale date).  I did hope the author had revealed the truth at the end, but I realize the main character, Josey, wanted to believe what she was told by the “madwoman” in her closet and didn’t want anyone taking that away from her, but STILL! LOL. What also gets me is that she’s 30 and never had the opportunity til now (the book’s “now” of course) to finally meet a friend and find love.  She had missed out on so much of her life and most of it had been a “lie” and that is truely sad.

Leave a Reply

