Cocktails For Three

FROM THE www.fantasticfiction.co.uk WEBSITE… “Three women, smart and successful, working in the fast and furious world of magazines, meet for cocktails and gossip once a month.  Roxanne: glamorous, self-confident, with a secret lover – and hoping that one day he will leave his wife and marry her.  Maggie: capable and high-achieving, until she finds the one thing she can’t cope with – motherhood.  Candice: honest, decent, or so she believes – until a ghost from her past turns up, and almost ruins her life.  A chance encounter in the cocktail bar sets in train an extraordinary set of events which upsets all their lives and almost destroys their friendship.”

THE BOOK FAERY REVIEW…After reading the last novel, I figured it was time for a light fiction, nothing too serious.  So here we go…OK…so another book that took me by surprise (I thought this was going to be more comedic!) and reminded me of my own friends and those who’ve come along my path I call life!  Six years of friendship yet they don’t know their biggest secret/fear!

As a mother, I can relate to Maggie who’s learning to adjust to motherhood, feeling lost, and trying too hard appear like superwoman.  Takes a meltdown of sorts to discover that she shouldn’t feel like she has to do it all alone.  There are others around her she can get help and support from.  There’s no need to put up this front of perfection!

As a woman and wife who’s been touched with infidelity and overcome it within her marriage, in the beginning I was very angry with Roxanne for being in love with a married family man for six years.  Perhaps it stung just too close to my own heart.  But then I couldn’t help but feel sorry for her and wonder what the man’s wife and children thought of his affair.  Wondered if they were angry towards her for interfering in their family or felt pity towards the fact that she never had it all since his family and wife still always came first?

As a woman who is always wanting to please others and help those I think need help, I could sympathize with Candace but then I couldn’t help but want to slap her to wake up.  I wanted to tell her to open her eyes, listen to her gut, scream at her for not listening to her friends and yell at her for not getting involved with Ed sooner!

Overall, I thought it was a pretty good book and a fairly quick read as well.  Now I just want to go blend me a nice cocktail while I enjoy the nice sunny outdoors.  Drinks anyone?!

Leave a Reply

