Shattered Reality

shattered-realityFROM THE AMAZON SITE…“A wonderful read for all parents, teachers, counselors …. we need to open our eyes to child sexual assault and help put a stop to this silent epidemic. The sexual abuse of a child creates a devastating family crisis. Parents want to know what to do and say to help their child but they also want to know how to respond to and heal their own emotional turmoil. As a parent, you need to know it’s okay and natural to act with disbelief and denial. This is my story, a mother’s story, about the abuse of my daughter and my struggles to over come. I thought I could trust my family members. I thought I knew and could trust the legal system. I was wrong. As a parent, I couldn’t find help for ME…what to expect on this journey with my daughter and her recovery. I didn’t know how much pain I would suffer as well. This is my story and my struggle toward recovery. Some how, some way, I hope it gives you hope for your journey as well.”

FROM THE BOOK FAERY REVIEWS…How do I really explain my feelings after reading this book as a young teen victim to child molestation myself?  It’s not that I “really liked” this book and wanted to re-read it again at a later date, but that I “really liked” the fact that it is out there to bring this real issue out in front of everyone’s eyes instead of keeping it hush hush.

[F]amily’s experiences with Child Sexual Assault are unique to us, they are sadly too similar to so many other families who have had to deal with the aftermath of abuse.

In my case it was a close family friend, shoved under the rug, and forgotten by everyone who knew (everyone but me of course).  I cried when I read how she described the mannerisms of her daughter from the beginning of sharing, afterwards, and as she remembered how her daughter used to act while unknowingly to her it was happening.  I knew those feelings.  I knew those feelings and honestly got a little frustrated while I read thinking like her daughter…”I was the victim, not you! Why is it all about you?!”.  Nothing towards the author really, more perhaps of how I felt about my own past.  But then I’m glad I read it from a mother’s perspective because it helps me better understand a little of why some of the adults who knew reacted the way that they did back then.   The feelings of denial and frustrations of not wanting to believe or not knowing what to do.  Perhaps if a book like this was out 15+ years ago for parents, teachers, and friends who knew a loved one who was suffering, the help needed for the victim would have been more readily available and case’s wouldn’t be so hard to reach justice.  Victim’s family’s could receive the support they needed to help themselves and their loved ones.

Thank you Kimberly for writing your story and thank you to your daughter for sharing so that others who are impacted know they are not alone, they are not to blame, it can happen to anyone by anyone, and help is out there for them.  I’m a firm believer that one can learn from another’s story even in our darkest days.  There are reasons for everything and testimonies to go along with each.  It’s our job to share those testimonies in life.  As a mother myself, I pray that my own daughters and even my son don’t face this evil at any angle.

Find out more information…

Read her Guest Post here from the other day.

Kimberly Elliott, MBA, Certified Rape, Aggression,Defense (RAD) Trainer

Executive Defense Technology, LLC.       www.execdeftech.com
To order T-shirts to support children of assault visit: www.animewithattitude.com
Her Blog: http://executivemom.typepad.com

4 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m so sorry you had to deal with that as a child. Let’s hope this book helps someone deal with this. Thanks for sharing so much of yourself in this review.

  2. It’s a very difficult topic for anyone but it’s still a topic that needs to be discussed so that others are aware.

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you – i have tears in my eyes knowing the pain and frustration you must have gone through. Especially since everyone chose to ignore it and move on. From a parent’s perspective it is a very hard thing to deal with and brings so many varying emotions. The guilt is huge. Knowing it’s not my fault but also knowing I somehow let my child down and my only 2 jobs in this world are to love her and protect her and I flunked.
    I can’t put into words how much I appreciate your sharing so much of yourself in this review. It makes it so powerful and helps get the message out to so many. We talk about so many other issues these days with celebrities going into rehab for this and that but child sexual assault is something no one wants to discuss because of the difficulty and the bad feelings but it is so prevalent in our society that it can’t be ignored.
    One day I pray there will be less victims and more awareness.
    Bless you – Kimberly Charyl

  4. Thank you Kimberly. As I read others who had commented you could feel some of their own impact from it. Like you said, we talk about so many other things yet sadly this topic is still left in the dark closet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

