The Truth Lies in the Dark & Author Interview

a-truth-lies-in-the-darkFROM THE AUTHOR SITE…” What if you found out that everything you thought you knew was a lie? That the people you loved and trusted kept a life changing secret from you? These are a few of the questions Amanda Martineau must answer in The Truth Lies in the Dark. As a child Amanda survived a plane crash that killed her parents and left her with no memory of her life before the accident. Raised by her grandparents, she only knows what they have told her about her past and her family. But her reoccurring nightmares tell her something different. They leave her feeling like a stranger in her own mind. Then an unfinished letter written by her grandfather thrusts her deeper into confusion. A business trip with her husband Nick quickly turns into a personal journey to expose the secret of her past. As she searches for answers she only finds more questions. Who can she trust? Who is there to help her and who is there to make sure that the truth remains…in the dark?”

INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR…

BF: What was your inspiration to this book?

KC: I have always wanted to write a book and finally decided to try.  I started writing with a pen and a pad while I watched my kids play at the park.  I kept my writing hidden like a dirty secret.  I still find it hard to write when there are people around.  Once I had the characters and their backgrounds down on paper the entire story seemed to come alive in my head.  It was like I had already seen the movie and just had to put it on paper.  That was the hard part; finding time around the schedules of four children and a husband to concentrate on writing.  I finally set a time limit for myself to finish it or forget it.  I finished in two months.

BF: How did you go about creating the characters and places? Are any of the characters or places you wrote about significant to you?

KC: By the time I finished writing, reading, editing, re editing The Truth Lies in the Dark I felt like  Amanda and Nick were friends of mine.  I was so wrapped up in the story that I was talking to a friend and started to tell her something that Amanda did.  I caught myself and thought, “You really are losing it.  She’s not a real person.” But all of my characters are completely fictional.  I would get myself into trouble if I tried to base them on people I knew.

For the places in Connecticut, I chose ones that I was familiar with.  I used an atlas and the Internet to research the places in California and Nevada.

BF: Who was your favorite character to write?

KC: My favorite character in this book was Amanda.  She was not only the main character, but she changed the most in the story.  She started out very emotionally dependent.  I had fun giving her some guts.

BF: What was the most challenging part of writing the book?

KC: That would also have to be Amanda.  It was difficult to show her dependence on her grandparents and husband and not make her too weak.

BF: How long did it take to finish this novel?

KC: Once I got serious, it only took two months.  But that doesn’t count the year plus that I had my pad tucked away with all of my notes and the first chapter.

BF: If your book was being discussed by a book club, or a few friends meeting over coffee, what about the book do you think would drive the most discussion? (a particular character, event, theme)?

KC: Oh definitely the surprise twist after Amanda finds out that Nick knew about her mysterious past and didn’t tell her.  I am not saying anymore, but I have gotten a lot of comments on that.

BF: If your book was made into a movie, what actors/actresses would you like playing the main roles?

KC: First of all it would make a great Lifetime movie.  I’m not sure who I pick for actors.  Probably someone unknown, since I picture Amanda as a normal woman, slightly scarred and all.  As for picking who would play Nick.  All I ask is that I get to be there when they pick him.  Tall, dark, handsome and hopelessly devoted to his wife…yum :)

BF: Do you write during set hours of the day or do you write when the mood hits?

KC: I write the best when there is no one home, so not as often as I like.  When there are no snow storms or sick days ( or as I call them, kid holidays!) I try to write everyday.

BF: What types of books do you most enjoy reading? Who are your favorite authors?

KC: I love all types.  I always have a book next to the couch that I read while watching TV with the family.  I have read most of Ernest Hemingway, Sidney Sheldon, Danielle Steele, Mary Higgins Clark, Sandra Brown, Nora Roberts, and just read the first book in her J.D. Robb  Death series.  I also have a over flowing shelf of books that cover every aspect of writing, thanks to my book lovin’ mother.  She is always picking up helpful books for me at library sales, book stores, etc. 

BF: Do you have any advice to those working on their first novels?

KC: Yes, be patient.  Publishing takes a lot more time than most realize, and rejections are a normal part of the process.  And be prepared to do a lot of your own promoting and marketing.  The book world is changing and even big publishers are expecting more author involvement.

BF: Are you currently working on another novel and if so could you give us a sneak peek?

KC: I have a second manuscript being considered by a New York publisher now.  It is about a real estate agent that buys an investment property to “Flip” and flips his whole life instead.  I will hopefully have more news on that soon.  I am also working on another mystery.

Thank you Farrah for interviewing me on The Book Faery and thanks to all that took the time out of their own busy lives to learn a little about me and my book.  Anyone that is interested in following my Book Blog Tour, or just want to see where I’ve been, you can go to my website http://sites.google.com/site/kristincallenderbooks.

The Truth Lies in the Dark by Kristin Callender is available at www.amazon.com/Truth-Lies-Dark-Kristin-Callender/dp/1604520140 and is currently the “Featured Book of the Month” at www.bluewaterpress.com.
– Kristin Callender

FROM THE BOOK FAERY REVIEWS…Thanks to Kristin for spending the time to allow me to interview her and for sending me a copy of her book.  I enjoyed getting to know her more apart from just being an author but as a mother and individual as well.  I always enjoy an author who likes to connect with her readers on a more personal level and that I feel we did with our previous interactions for this interview.  I’m just as thrilled as she was when she told me that her son designed the cover for the book.  It looks great and gave it a good image for your story.  As a mother I know that she was excited to share with others her son’s talent and the fact that he was involved in her process.  I personally enjoyed the suspense in the book and the feelings she created with the characters.  There was a moment that I was annoyed by the character Amanda’s dependency and constant “need” and the way that her husband Nick seemed to act too lovey.  However, after reading the whole story it made sense and answered the whys I had.  What man wouldn’t want to protect and love his wife as much as Nick did?  I have to admit I was a little shocked to read who actually caused all the pain for her once it was revealed.  Good book and one I’d recommend to someone looking for a quick read that will keep you engaged to the end.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Now it’s time for a GIVEAWAY!! 1 randomly picked commenter will receive a copy of Kristin’s book!

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

The Book Faery Reviews is hosting a Book Giveaway 3/24-3/26!!

  • Giveaway ends on: 3/26/09 at Noon ET, Winner to be randomly selected and posted by 3/27/09. Winners have 48 hours to contact me with mailing addresses once notified of winning.
  • Copies available: 1 copy
  • Countries available: USA & Canada; No PO Boxes

5 Ways to gain an entry (please leave a comment for EACH item completed):

  1. Leave a comment below with your e-mail address
  2. Leave a comment in another post here at The Book Faery Reviews
  3. Add The Book Faery Reviews to your RSS feed or subscribe via e-mail
  4. Post about this giveaway and provide a link
  5. Follow @wifeandmomof3 and Tweet about this giveaway. Don’t forget to provide me your Twitter username in your comment so I can follow you.
18 Responses

  1. Another good interview. The questions were well thought out. The answers were revealing too. Some I have heard before but it is just like re-reading a book – sometimes you pick up on something you did not the first time. the second book sounds interesting. I take it that it is NOT a mystery. what type of book is it?

  2. Excellent interview. I appreciate that I can meet the author and understand something about her. The book looks like a great spring read. Definitely not a boring book and will hold my interest. Count me among those hoping to win it.

  3. Thank you Dennis. My second book is not a mystery. It is a contemporary romance. But I am also working on another mystery. I will update my website as soon as there is more to tell about them both.

    Thanks to Ally also. I enjoyed this interview with Farrah. She is a great host and I enjoy her other blog, Wifeandmomof3. Good Luck on the contest.

    Thanks Again to all who stopped by. I will be checking in later, so if there are any questions or comments I am happy to answer them. I realy appreciate your taking the time to learn about me and my book :D

    Ty,
    Kristin Callender
    The Truth Lies in the Dark

  4. Great interview!!

  5. I’m an email subscriber.

  6. This sounds really good. I love reading interviews that make me feel like I know the author.

    mj.coward[at]gmail.com

  7. I subscrine on RSS.

    mj.coward@gmail.com

  8. Great interview- I really want to read this book now!

  9. Love the probing interview.

  10. subscribe rss

  11. Thanks bridget3420, MJ, cassandra aubut, and DEBIJOT for your interest and comments. I hope that if you decide to read my book you stop by my website and let me know what you thought of it. Good Luck to all of you who have entered the contest!
    Thanks Again,
    Kristin Callender
    The Truth Lies in the Dark

  12. This book sounds amazing! Hope I win!

  13. What an inspiring interview! Thank you. The book summary is such an attention getter. I really want to read it.

    techyone at gmail dot com

  14. Oh now I really want to read this book! Sounds like a great read.

    Thanks!

    dbkagrayson2002 at gmail dot com

  15. I am an email subscriber.

  16. Sounds like a great book.
    Please enter me.

    sharon54220@gmail.com

  17. I am also a subscriber via Google Reader.

    sharon54220@gmail.com

  18. I liked the question about book club discussion. You never knknow what about a book will set people off. Endings with a twist are the best. Please enter me in the drawing as this sounds like a book I would really enjoy. Great interview questions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

